Saint Patrick’s Day Sauce

Being born and raised in New England, our March 17th is all about the boiled dinner. Corned Beef, Potatoes, Carrots, (optional) Turnips and Cabbage, all cooked together over many hours. Usually slathered with horseradish or mustard to liven things up. Well why not have both? In my family, its a tradition to make this sauce, and eat it with EVERYTHING on the plate.

How good is this sauce? Well, lets just say I am mildly lactose intolerant and I eat it anyway. Take a look at the ingredients – if that isn’t an endorsement, I don’t know what is.

Saint Paddy’s Sauce
A secret family recipe

2 tablespoons butter
One large container sour cream
One brick cream cheese
Horseradish to taste (anywhere between 2-4 tablespoons)
Spicy Brown Mustard to taste (equal parts to the horseradish)
Additional powdered yellow mustard for color and flavor
Salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter over medium heat. Add cream cheese. Once it is melted, add the rest of the ingredients. We like it moderately spicy – you are serving it with boiled food after all – but you can adjust to your palate. Trust me – totally worth the extra calories and dairy pain.

Forgive the lack of proper picture taking on this one, folks. I barely had enough time to whip up the sauce tonight, and I wasn't cooking, so there was limited opportunity. I do love that this picture could have been taken in 2011 or 1971, though.

I’ve thought many times about making it healthier. It probably doesn’t need the butter. You could sub Greek Yogurt for the sour cream, and not do all of the cream cheese. But every year I crave the nostalgia as much as I crave the taste – and I make it the same way its been made for years in our house. Maybe I’ll play with it next week – when all that leftover corned beef goes on sale.

One Response to Saint Patrick’s Day Sauce

  1. Poppa D says:

    Somebody been lookin’ at my secret recipes . . . and then sharin’ them with the world . . . lordy, lordy . . . ain’t got no secrets anymore!

Leave a Reply

