The Beginnings of June in the Garden

There’s been a lot of stirring in the garden. Almost everything is planted in its final resting place and I am very excited about not having to pot things up anymore. I am currently on the hunt for bigger containers because I actually ran out. I found a fertilizer that works and I no longer need to worry about frost. Finally things are moving along!

The greens are coming along nicely. The chard is a slow process, especially as I direct seeded it outside in April. Its about two inches high at this point. I am dreaming of a passive solar greenhouse full of year-round greens in my future…

The tomatoes are doing well. I think I actually grew too many, so I’ve been trying to pawn them off on friends and at our local swap but to no avail. I grew Baker Creek’s Riesenstraube this year and it has been absolutely prolific. I think I have like six of them – which is crazy for a container garden.

I am growing a few kinds of peppers, but I am most excited about my Pimientos de Padrón. I dont know if they’re particularly missing the Spanish medioambiente but they seem to be alright. When flash fried, these little beauties are my favorite tapa ever. I hope we get some hotter weather so they perk up a bit, but its early yet.

Slugs killed my tomatillo hopes last year before anything could happen. While I am still engaged in epic battle with those nasty buggers, I seem to have the upper hand at the moment. Its all worthwhile – I think the tomatillos are showing tiny tiny fruit!

The theme of this year’s garden has been make do with little. I wanted to buy a trellis for my Boston Pickling cucumbers after inspiration from a few of Re-Nest’s posts on vertical gardening. I happened to have a bunch of freecycled wire fence in our shed, and with some tomato cage stakes for support a makeshift trellis was born. Its not pretty, but its definitely functional and sturdy. I’m particularly proud of it, but it remains to be seen if it will work or not.

Not pictured: two massive zucchini plants that I've been storing on the diving board of all places.

So I don’t know if I can call it a garden anymore. I’ve been teased that its more of a microfarm at this point, and I’ve been forbidden from adding anything any closer to the pool. While its nowhere on the scale of Daphne’s Dandelions or Modern Victory Garden, but considering I have filled the most consistently sunny space on our property, I feel like its closer than you might think.

So how does your June garden grow?

This post was shared as part of this week’s Tuesday Garden Party at An Oregon Cottage.

One Response to The Beginnings of June in the Garden

  1. debbie says:

    hahaha love your post! zucchini on the diving board!hahahaha thats a new one!

    your garden is looking good!

Leave a Reply

