World’s Easiest Poultry Stock

Happy Day-After-Thanksgiving! We are busy prepping for Thanksgiving Round Two, starting with stock. Every year I walk in ready to fight for the turkey carcass, and it always seems like no fighting is needed. Why doesn’t anyone want these brilliant leftovers? Maybe after I share this recipe, it wont be so easy to go home with the turkey trimmings.

Of course, I have come down with my first cold in a few years. Just in time to have a whole bunch of folks over. Fabulous. As I’ve slept about 30 of the last 48 hours, I am clearly not up for intensive cooking projects.

This method is super easy – no peeling or attention required – perfect when in a Dayquil-induced fog. The hardest thing about this recipe is straining at the end. As it uses a slow cooker, its great to cook overnight on the countertop. Of course, you could use a large stockpot on the stove, but I like that you can throw everything in an walk away. 12-24 hours later = glorious, rich stock. How rich?

The best part about this turkey stock? Just the thing to soothe your holiday head cold. Or, if you’re lucky enough to be without sniffles, its great to combat all of yesterday’s rich food. With that, I am off to make a bowl of soup and hopefully clear my sinuses a bit. Enjoy this recipe – don’t go out and buy things for it – use what you have.

World’s Easiest Poultry Stock
Turkey or chicken carcass, picked clean (but don’t kill yourself)
Veggie scraps: carrot peels, onion skins, garlic paper, asparagus ends, cleaned leek tops…
Fresh veg: A few cloves of garlic, sliced in half. One onion, sliced in quarters. A carrot, sliced in half, if you have it.
Filtered water

[Note: for an all-purpose stock, avoid strongly flavored things. Go with i.e. celery, avoid ginger.]

Easy, peasy: throw everything into the crockpot, top with water and turn on low for at least 12 but up to 18-24 hours. Speaking from experience, it helps to let the crock cool before straining. Strain through a large colander, and freeze in smaller portions (quart mason jars or freezer bags, ice cube trays, etc.) Once I get my pressure canner calibrated, this will be the first recipe I pressure can. I like to keep salt out of my stock, so I can salt the final dish instead. Up to you.

Use in: risotto, soup, stuffing, gravy, beans… anywhere you need liquid with flavor. Just the thing to cure what ails you me when that inevitable winter cold comes around.

2 Responses to World’s Easiest Poultry Stock

  1. Pingback: Dark Days: Week Six « Snowflake Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Dark Days: Week Six | Snowflake Kitchen

Leave a Reply

